The International Conference on Neutron Scattering 2013

8 - 12 July, Edinburgh, Scotland

By Inês Crespo, NMI3 Information Manager, 29/07/2013

ICNS2013 Opening Session ICNS2013 Opening Session Picture: NMI3

ICNS2013 Opening Session

This year the International Conference on Neutron Scattering took place from 8 – 12 July in the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. The beautiful city of Edinburgh, a UNESCO heritage site, welcomed us with a full week of sunshine.

The conference counted with over 800 delegates who listened to very interesting talks that exemplified the contribution of neutrons to a myriad of research fields. In the corridors during the poster sessions, we could hear lively discussions that likely fostered brilliant research ideas.

The exhibition stands

Colin Carlile (ESS) and Winfried Petry (FRM II) at the exhibition hall Colin Carlile (ESS) and Winfried Petry (FRM II) at the exhibition hall Picture: NMI3

Colin Carlile (ESS) and Winfried Petry (FRM II) at the exhibition hall

In the exhibition hall, conference delegates could visit the circa fifty stands where they could learn about the work developed in a number of neutron facilities from around the globe as well as about neutron-related materials offered by the companies present, and enter the NMI3 neutron-geographical competition.

ICNS was the perfect opportunity to announce the launch of this website, Coordinated by NMI3 and supported by a network of Press Officers from the neutron centres, this comprehensive website contains useful information about the neutron world.

Closing session

The AONSA Prize at ICNS2013 The AONSA Prize at ICNS2013 Picture: NMI3

The AONSA Prize at ICNS2013

Among highlights of the conference was the prize ceremony that took place during the closing session. The prizes included a total of 17 posters recognised as the best ones presented at ICNS; the award of the “Young Scientists Prize” to Elisa Wheeler from ILL; the “AONSA Prize” to Balebail Anantha Dasannacharya retired from the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre in India; the “Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut” Prize to Johan Chang from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland; and finally the “Walter Hälg” Prize awarded to Joe Zaccai from the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), France.

Between interesting talks, insightful posters, informative stands, and a taste of the Scottish culture, everyone seems to have enjoyed the week.
This successful series of conferences will continue. The next one will be the European Conference on Neutron Scattering that will take place in 2015 in Saragoza, Spain, and ICNS2017 in Daejeon, South Korea.

Copyright 2012   |   All rights reserved.   |   Powered by FRM II | Privacy Policy

Print this page   |   Top