[Neutron] Workshop on "Single-Crystal Diffuse Scattering at Pulsed Neutron Sources"

Ray Osborn ROsborn at anl.gov
Mon Apr 14 23:23:28 CDT 2003

   "Single-Crystal Diffuse Scattering at Pulsed Neutron Sources"
                 Intense Pulsed Neutron Source
                  Argonne National Laboratory
                       June 16-17, 2003

We invite anyone interested in disordered crystalline systems to participate
in the Workshop on "Single-Crystal Diffuse Scattering at Pulsed Neutron
Sources", to be held on June 16-17, 2003, at Argonne National Laboratory.

The registration deadline is May 15, 2003.  Please visit
<http://www.neutron.anl.gov/diffuse/> for further details.

Single-crystal diffuse coherent neutron scattering is a powerful technique
for probing complex nanoscale (spin and lattice) disorder in crystalline
materials.  The Spallation Neutron Source, currently being built at Oak
Ridge National Laboratory, provides an opportunity to perform diffuse
scattering experiments with unprecedented efficiency, since the
time-of-flight Laue technique can take full advantage of the high brightness
of the new source.  Nevertheless, there are currently no proposals to build
a dedicated diffractometer for single-crystal diffuse scattering at the SNS.
The workshop will address this issue, as well as reviewing existing diffuse
scattering capabilities around the world.

The goals of this Workshop are:

1) To discuss the range of science to which single-crystal diffuse neutron
scattering has made, and will make, an important contribution.

2) To review current diffuse scattering instrumentation around the world.

3) To discuss the technical challenges that must be addressed by an
optimized diffuse scattering diffractometer, including methods of
discriminating elastic from inelastic scattering and performing polarization

4) To explore the science case for building a dedicated single-crystal
diffuse scattering diffractometer at the SNS.

Partial List of Speakers
   Steve Bramwell (University College London)
   Branton Campbell (Brigham Young University)
   Friedrich Frey (Universitat Muenchen)
   Bruce Gaulin (McMaster University)
   Alexander Ioffe (Forschungzentrum Juelich)
   David Keen (ISIS)
   Seunghun Lee (NIST)
   Jeff Lynn (NIST)
   Thomas Proffen (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
   Lee Robertson (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
   Sunil Sinha (University of California, San Diego)
   Ross Stewart (ILL)

Workshop Chairs
Ray Osborn <ROsborn at anl.gov>
Stephan Rosenkranz <SRosenkranz at anl.gov>

Workshop Secretary
Carolyn Peters <CPeters at anl.gov>
Intense Pulsed Neutron Source
Argonne National Laboratory
Argonne, IL 60439-4814
Phone: (630) 252-7820
Fax: (630) 252-9987

Organizing Committee
Bruce Gaulin (McMaster University, Canada)
David Keen (ISIS, UK)
Lee Robertson (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)

Dr Ray Osborn                Tel: +1 (630) 252-9011
Materials Science Division   Fax: +1 (630) 252-7777
Argonne National Laboratory  E-mail: ROsborn at anl.gov
Argonne, IL 60439-4845

More information about the Neutron mailing list