[Neutron] Sixth United States National School on Neutron and X-ray Scattering

Ray Osborn ROsborn at anl.gov
Tue Mar 16 08:58:23 CST 2004

We are pleased to announce the sixth United States National School on
Neutron and X-ray Scattering to be held at Argonne National Laboratory,
August 15-29, 2004. The main purpose of the School is to educate students on
the utilization of major neutron and x-ray facilities.

Graduate students attending U.S. universities and majoring in physics,
chemistry, materials science, or related fields are encouraged to apply. A
limited number of postdoctoral appointees and junior scientists from
universities, national and industrial laboratories may be selected to attend
as allowed by the class size.

The school consists of tutorial lectures on the principles of scattering
theory, the characteristics of neutron and synchrotron x-ray sources, and
the application of scattering methods to condensed matter research. Hands-on
experiments at both the IPNS and APS provide the students with practical
experience in the use of neutrons and synchrotron x-rays for research. A
series of lectures by prominent scientists on recent research using neutrons
and x-rays are also presented to the students. Topics from many disciplines
(including materials science, condensed matter physics, chemistry, biology,
and geology) is included in both the experiments and lectures.

Applicants are encouraged to register electronically via the internet at
<http://www.dep.anl.gov/nx/> or by contacting:

    Neutron and X-ray School
    Division of Educational Programs
    Argonne National Laboratory
    Building 223
    9700 South Cass Avenue
    Argonne, IL  60439

The application deadline is April 30, 2004.

We would be happy to respond to any questions that you may have about the
National School on Neutron and X-ray Scattering.

Raymond Osborn and Dean Haeffner, Scientific Directors
Harold Myron, Educational Director
Carol Reynolds, Conference Secretary
Email: nxschool at dep.anl.gov

Dr Raymond Osborn            Tel: +1 (630) 252-9011
Materials Science Division   Fax: +1 (630) 252-7777
Argonne National Laboratory  E-mail: ROsborn at anl.gov
Argonne, IL 60439-4845

More information about the Neutron mailing list