[Neutron] NSSA announces election of the 2010 NSSA Fellows

Thomas Proffen tproffen at lanl.gov
Wed Apr 28 19:39:30 CEST 2010

The Neutron Scattering Society of America is pleased

to announce the election as Fellows of the Society of:


John D. Axe, Brookhaven National Laboratory

For his seminal scientific studies of incommensurate and commensurate
structural phase transitions, as well as his service to the US and
international neutron community.


Collin Broholm, Johns Hopkins University 

[2010 Sustained Research Prize recipient]

For outstanding neutron scattering studies of correlated electron physics in
magnets, metals and superconductors, and for science-driven development of
neutron scattering techniques.


Robert Golub, North Carolina State University

For pioneering research in studies of the neutron electric dipole moment,
for development of the super thermal technique for production of ultra cold
neutrons, and for development of new methods in neutron spin echo research.


Charles Han, Chinese Academy of Sciences

For his sustained record of accomplishment in developing and applying
neutron scattering methods to elucidate the interactions that govern the
structure and phase behavior of polymer blends and solutions.


Thomas M. Holden, Northern Stress Technologies, Canada

For his pioneering studies in the field of engineering diffraction and
development of methods that have greatly enhanced the industrial impact of
neutron scattering.


Jeffrey W. Lynn, NIST Center for Neutron Research

For seminal studies of the colossal magneto resistance effect and his many
contributions to our understanding of the interplay of magnetism and


Charles F. Majkrzak, NIST Center for Neutron Research

For fundamental contributions to the development of neutron reflectivity.


Thom E. Mason, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

For scientific, technical, and administrative leadership that was essential
to realize the Spallation Neutron Source.


Stephen E. Nagler, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

For seminal contributions to research in quantum magnetism and correlated
electron systems.


Dan A. Neumann, NIST Center for Neutron Research

For outstanding research using inelastic and quasielastic neutron scattering
on carboncontaining

and other diverse materials and exceptional leadership in serving and
expanding the American neutron community.


David L. Price, CNRS, Orleans, France

For his seminal contributions on the structure and dynamics of liquids and
glasses and leadership role in the field of neutron scattering.


James J. Rhyne, Los Alamos National Laboratory

For extraordinary research on magnetic materials and thin films and
outstanding leadership and support of major U.S. neutron facilities and
research opportunities.


Jill Trewhella, University of Sydney, Australia

For her landmark experiments using small angle neutron scattering to study
the structure of biological macromolecules in solution and service to the
neutron scattering community.


Wen-li Wu, NIST Center for Neutron Research

For important contributions to a broad range of problems in polymer science
and in its industrial application using neutron scattering.


Through the NSSA Fellowship Program, the Society recognizes members who have

significant contributions to the neutron scattering community in North
America in one or more

of the following areas: advances in knowledge through original research and

innovative contributions in the application of neutron scattering;
contributions to the promotion

or development of neutron scattering techniques; and service and
participation in the activities

of the NSSA or neutron community. Each year, election to Fellowship of the
Neutron Scattering

Society of America is limited to no more than one half of one percent of the

Additionally, recipients of the Clifford G. Shull Prize and Sustained
Research Prize are

automatically named Fellows of the Society. Election as NSSA Fellow
recognizes outstanding

contributions to neutron scattering and the North American neutron
scattering community.


The new Fellows will be recognized at the 2010 American Conference on

Scattering to be held in Ottawa, Canada, June 26-30, 2010.



Dr. Thomas Proffen

NPDF instrument scientist

Editor Zeitschrift f. Kristallographie

Lujan Neutron Scattering Center, LANL

MS H805, Los Alamos, NM 87545, USA


Phone: +1 505 665-6573

Fax:   +1 505 665-2676


Email: tproffen at lanl.gov

WWW:   http://lansce.lanl.gov/lujan/instruments/NPDF

ID:    http://www.researcherid.com/rid/B-3585-2009


Export license: TSPA, Correspondence


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://neutronsources.org/pipermail/neutron/attachments/20100428/75dff915/attachment-0001.html>

More information about the Neutron mailing list