[Neutron] 2nd Circular of the workshop Perspectives in TeraHz spectroscopy with neutrons"

Russina, Margarita margarita.russina at helmholtz-berlin.de
Tue Aug 16 16:06:53 CEST 2011

Dear Colleagues,
We would like to invite you to the workshop on “Perspectives in Terahertz Spectroscopy with Neutrons. The workshop is organized by  Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin and European Spallation Source Project as part of Röntgen Ångström Cluster collaboration and will be held on November 29-30, 2011 in Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin, Germany.
The workshop will bring together young and experienced scientists who are using or planning to use neutron Time-of-Flight spectroscopy for their research. Time-of-Flight (TOF) spectroscopy with cold neutron allows us best to explore phenomena in condensed matter on the terahertz frequency range (10•eV -150meV) and on a length scale from 0.5 to 100 Å . This method can be applied to study extremely broad range of phenomena in complex systems, e. g. quantum phenomena in magnetism, microscopy dynamics of proteins, and fast ionic diffusion in conducting systems. The high data rates and new instrumental capabilities of modern spectrometers open up new opportunities for systematic, in situ and kinematic investigations or study of excitation spectrum of complete Brillouin zones.  Direct neutron spectroscopic measurements in the space and time domain allow us to benchmark and validate molecular dynamic model calculations forming a very powerful tool in exploring nanoscale dynamics and functionality.

We invite you to join us for an exciting program, that will cover topics on soft matter, magnetism, and material science.  An overview of new trends in neutron TOF spectroscopy instrumentation, data handling and interpretation approaches will also be presented. The list of the invited speakers include:

M. Braden ( University Köln, Germany)
 S. Süllow (Technical University Braunschweig, Germany)
O. Stockert ( MPI Dresden, Germany)
A. Züttel ( EMPA, Swiss)
S. Fischer ( HU Berlin, Germany)
A. Mayer ( DLR, Germany)
M. Havenith (RU Bochum, Germany)
H. Bakker (FOM Institute AMOLF, Netherlands)

M. Johnson ( Institute Lauer Langevin, France)
M. Tarek  (Nancy University, France)
J. Ollivier (ILL, France)
T. Perring (ISIS, UK)

The workshop registration is now open! For more information please look at hxxps://www.helmholtz-berlin.de/events/neat/index_de.html or contact:
Dr. Margarita Russina
Margarita.Russina at helmholtz-berlin.de<mailto:Margarita.Russina at helmholtz-berlin.de>

Dr. Margarita Russina
TOF spectroscopy group, Institute Functional Materials and Soft Matter
E-mail: margarita.russina at helmholtz-berlin.de<mailto:margarita.russina at helmholtz-berlin.de>
Tel: +49-(0)30-8062-4 3159, Fax: +49-(0)30-8062-4 2523

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH
Hahn-Meitner-Platz 1, 14109 Berlin
Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Joachim Treusch
Stellvertretende Vorsitzende: Dr. Beatrix Vierkorn-Rudolph
Geschäftsführer: Prof. Dr. Anke Rita Kaysser-Pyzalla, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Eberhardt, Dr. Ulrich Breuer
Sitz der Gesellschaft: Berlin
Handelsregister: AG Charlottenburg, 89 HRB 5583


Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH

Mitglied der Hermann von Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren e.V.

Aufsichtsrat: Vorsitzender Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Joachim Treusch, stv. Vorsitzende Dr. Beatrix Vierkorn-Rudolph
Geschäftsführer: Prof. Dr. Anke Rita Kaysser-Pyzalla, Dr. Ulrich Breuer

Sitz Berlin, AG Charlottenburg, 89 HRB 5583

Hahn-Meitner-Platz 1
D-14109 Berlin


More information about the Neutron mailing list