[Neutron] User Program Headlines | Rosen Scholar: Call for Nominations | LANSCE User Group Elections | LUG 2014 | January 31, 2014

Fernandez, Elena elena at lanl.gov
Sat Feb 1 01:02:34 CET 2014


LANSCE User Program Headlines
This email has been formatted in html. Some images and links may not be displayed if your email client is not set to view in html.
To view the full html version go to: lansce.lanl.gov/news/up headlines<http://lansce.lanl.gov/news/up%20headlines.shtml>

Dateline: January 31, 2014

Rosen Scholar Call for Nominations
Nominations for Rosen Scholar candidates are to be sponsored by at least one of LANSCE's Facilities: IPF (Isotope Production Facility), UCN (Ultra-Cold Neutrons), pRad (Proton Radiography), Lujan Neutron Scattering Center (Lujan Center), and WNR (Weapons Neutron Research). The nomination package should include a two page research statement, a one-page support letter from one of the sponsoring facilities and a recent CV. The research proposal should address at least one of the following two points: (1) Advancement of LANSCE's research portfolio or mission and (2) Future capabilities that advances LANSCE-based scientific research.

Submit Nominations to:
LANSCE Rosen Scholar c/o LANSCE DO
MS H845
Los Alamos Natl. Lab
P.O. Box 1663
Los Alamos, NM 87545

LANSCE User Group Executive Committee Election Results

LANSCE welcomes Tyrel McQueen as the 2014 Chair of the LANSCE User Group Executive Committee. Tyrel has served on the LUG EC since 2012 when he was elected as a User Representative for the Lujan Center. Currently, Tyrel is a Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry and the Henry A. Rowland Department of Physics & Astronomy at Johns Hopkins University.

LANSCE thanks Mark Bowden for his dedicated service as the 2013 LUG EC Chair. Mark will remain on the LUC EC in 2014 as Chair Ex Officio.
We also thank outgoing members for their service to the LUG EC: June Matthews, Christopher Morris, Meiring Nortier,  Fredrik Tovesson, Bryan Zeck.

Results of the election are as follows:
Laura Dominik | Honeywell Inc. | Industry (re-elect)
Jonathon Engle | Los Alamos National Laboratory | IPF
Uwe Greife | Colorado School of Mines | WNR
Mike Heffner | Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory | WNR
Frank Merrill | Los Alamos National Laboratory | pRad
Daniel Salvat | Indiana University | Student/Postdoc
Albert Young | North Carolina State University | UCN (re-elect)

LANSCE welcomes the newly elected and re-elected members of the LUG EC.
Thank you for voting and please follow the link to the LUC EC in order to contact your respective LUG EC User Representative and review the current LUG Charter:

We look forward to another productive and successful collaboration!
- LANSCE User Program & LANSCE User Group  Executive Committee

LANSCE User Group Meeting 2014 (LUG 2014)

LUG 2014
Enhancing Capabilities & Collaborations

The LANSCE User Group will hold their 2014 meeting May 29-30, in Historic Santa Fe, NM.
Details and website to be announced.

LUG 2014 immediately follows the American Crystallographic Association Meeting:
May 24-28, 2014
Albuquerque, NM

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://neutronsources.org/pipermail/neutron/attachments/20140201/177b0177/attachment-0001.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: image001.png
Type: image/png
Size: 79697 bytes
Desc: image001.png
URL: <http://neutronsources.org/pipermail/neutron/attachments/20140201/177b0177/attachment-0002.png>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: image002.png
Type: image/png
Size: 169 bytes
Desc: image002.png
URL: <http://neutronsources.org/pipermail/neutron/attachments/20140201/177b0177/attachment-0003.png>

More information about the Neutron mailing list