[Neutron] Fourth Annual Niels Bohr International Academy Workshop on ESS Science: Opening a new window into surface interactions by combining inelastic neutron scattering and reflectometry with molecular dynamics

Heloisa N. Bordallo bordallo at nbi.ku.dk
Mon Jun 16 13:10:21 CEST 2014

Dear colleagues,

We are pleased to announce the Fourth Niels Bohr International Academy 
Meeting on ESS Science which will be held November 10 - November 14, 
2013  at the Niels Bohr International Academy in Copenhagen.

The main focus of the 2014 workshop-school will be the  combination of 
elastic and inelastic scattering methods, such as reflectometry, 
quasielastic  and inelastic neutron scattering ( QENS and INS)  to gain 
detailed understanding of relationships between structural and dynamic 
properties and thus ultimately the function of diverse materials. The 
needs and interests of students with a background in the hard-condensed 
matter sciences will be addressed with discussion on the use of these 
experimental methods in magnetism. Results of studies using polarized 
neutron reflectometry (PNR), INS and inelastic X-rays scattering (INX) 
will be at the core of those tutorials.

Detailed information as well as the registration form are available at 

Following the successful formula from the last years,  the students will 
be given a small project and will be guided by the lecturers to a 
solution. In parallel with, and following the school we plan to hold a 
small but intensive scientific meeting on carefully selected topics of 
relevance to the school and of current interest with extensive 
discussion between experimental and computational scientists.

This workshop is sponsored by the Niels Bohr International Academy, by 
the PhD School of the University of Copenhagen, by the  Institut 
Français du Danemark and by the European Spallation Source (ESS) . There 
is no fee for the participants, but attendance will be limited.

The school is limited to 20 students to be selected from the 
applications received.

Confirmed Speakers:

Niels Bech Christensen (DTU, Denmark)
Heloisa N. Bordallo (NBI, Denmark)
Stuart M. Clarke (University of Cambridge, UK )
Juergen Eckert (University of South Florida, USA)
Michael Fitzsimmons (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
Jason Gardner (Science Park Taiwan, ROC)
Virginie Marry (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France)
Des McMorrow (University of London, UK)
Thomas Schøder (Roskilde University, Denmark)
Mark Telling (ISIS, UK)
Robert K Thomas (University of Oxford, UK)
Hanna Wacklin (ESS, Sweden)

Heloisa N. Bordallo (bordallo at nbi.ku.dk), Hanna Wacklin 
(hanna.wacklin at esss.se) and Juergen Eckert (juergen at usf.edu).

Local Support:
Nikolaos Tsapatsaris (n.tsapatsaris at nbi.ku.dk), Gitte Michelsen 
(gittem at fys.ku.dk) and Helle Kiilerich (helle at nbi.dk).

Looking forward to seeing you at the NBIA.
Best regards
Heloisa, Hanna and Juergen

Heloisa N. Bordallo
Associate Professor (Lektor)
Niels Bohr Institute
(H.C. Ørsted Institute, bldg. D)
University of Copenhagen
Universitetsparken 5
2100 Copenhagen Denmark
Phone: +45 213 088 29
bordallo at nbi.ku.dk

More information about the Neutron mailing list