FW: National School of Neutron and X-ray Scattering

Neutron neutron at pns.anl.gov
Fri Apr 12 14:50:26 CDT 2002

From: Ray Osborn [mailto:ROsborn at anl.gov] 

This is a reminder that the deadline for applications to the National School
on Neutron and X-ray Scattering is April 26.  It will be held from August
11-26, 2001, at Argonne National Laboratory. The School is supported by the
U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Basic Energy
Sciences and is targeted at graduate students who require neutron or x-ray
scattering for their thesis research.

Application material and information regarding the School is on-line at
<http://www.dep.anl.gov/nx/>.  Here is a brief summary.

Purpose: The main purpose of the National School on Neutron and X-ray
Scattering is to educate graduate students attending U.S. universities on
the utilization of major neutron and x-ray facilities.  The school consists
of tutorial lectures on the principles of scattering theory, the
characteristics of neutron and synchrotron x-ray sources, and the
application of scattering methods to condensed matter research. Hands-on
experiments at both the IPNS and APS provide the students with practical
experience in the use of neutrons and synchrotron x-rays for research. A
series of lectures by prominent scientists on recent research using neutrons
and x-rays are also presented to the students. Topics from many disciplines
(including materials science, condensed matter physics, chemistry, biology,
and geology) is included in both the experiments and lectures.

Target Audience:  Graduate students pursuing doctorate degrees who are
attending U.S. universities and majoring in physics, chemistry, materials
science, or related fields. A very limited number of postdoctoral appointees
from universities, national and industrial laboratories may be selected to
attend as allowed by the class size.

Jointly Conducted by:  Argonne National Laboratory's Division of Educational
Programs, Intense Pulsed Neutron Source, Advanced Photon Source, and
Materials Science Division.

Scientific Directors:  Raymond Osborn and Dean Haeffner 
E-mail address: nxschool at dep.anl.gov

Dr Ray Osborn                Tel: +1 (630) 252-9011
Materials Science Division   Fax: +1 (630) 252-7777
Argonne National Laboratory  E-mail: ROsborn at anl.gov
Argonne, IL 60439-4845

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://www.neutron.anl.gov/pipermail/neutron/attachments/20020412/a13e57ac/attachment.htm

More information about the Neutron mailing list