Copyright 2012 | All rights reserved. | Powered by FRM II | Imprint / Privacy Policy

NSSA announces the 2016 NSSA Fellows

The NSSA is pleased to announce the selection of the following 2016 NSSA Fellows: John Copley, Michael Crawford, Pengcheng Dai, Jaime Fernandez-Baca, Brent Fultz, Aaron Krawitz, Ramanan Krishnamoorti, Timothy Lodge, Jaroslaw Majewski, John Root, and Stephen White.

Date: 06/04/2016


Dr. John R.D. Copley, Physicist, National Institute of Standards and Technology Center for Neutron Research (NCNR)
“For outstanding research on the physics of liquids and fullerenes and major contributions to neutron instrument development and scattering data analysis.”

Dr. Michael K. Crawford, DuPont Central Research and Development (retired)
“For outstanding neutron research related to industrial products and processes and extensive service to the American neutron community.”

Prof. Pengcheng Dai, Rice University
“For foundational contributions to the study of magnetic properties of iron and copper based superconductors and other correlated electron materials.”

Dr. Jaime A. Fernandez-Baca, Distinguished Research Staff, ORNL, Quantum Condensed Matter Division, UT-ORNL Joint Faculty Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy
“For important contributions to the study of spin dynamics in magnetic systems notably including amorphous magnets and CMR materials, for outstanding service to the neutron scattering community in the United States, and for leadership in promoting and supporting excellence in neutron scattering research.”

Prof. Brent Fultz, Barbara and Stanley Rawn, Jr. Professor of Materials Science and Applied Physics at the California Institute of Technology
“For outstanding record of leadership and service to the neutron scattering community, and important discoveries in the field of vibrational entropy and alloy thermodynamics.”

Prof. Aaron D. Krawitz, Professor Emeritus, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of Missouri
“For seminal contributions to the application of neutron diffraction in materials science and engineering.”

Prof. Ramanan Krishnamoorti, Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry, Interim Vice-President and Vice-Chancellor for Research and Technology Transfer, as well as the Chief Energy Officer, at the University of Houston
“For pioneering neutron scattering studies on soft materials and nanocomposites, and for sustained service to the neutron scattering community.”

Prof. Timothy P. Lodge, Regents Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, University of Minnesota
“For the creative use of SANS to achieve groundbreaking insights into the structure and dynamics of a wide range of complex polymer systems, in particular, multi-block copolymers in the bulk and in selective solvents”

Dr. Jaroslaw P. Majewski, Staff Member, Manuel Lujan Jr. Neutron Scattering Center, Los Alamos National Laboratory. Instrument scientist for SPEAR neutron reflectometer
“For contributions to our understanding of weakly organized two-dimensional systems, including surfactant molecules found in biological systems.”

Dr. John H. Root, Director, Canadian Neutron Beam Centre, National Research Council, Canada
“For considerable leadership in the Canadian neutron scattering community.”

Prof. Stephen H. White, Professor of Physiology & Biophysics, University of California at Irvine
“For the development of instrumentation and data analysis techniques for membrane structure determination by neutron scattering, and their creative application to elucidation of the structure and function of biological membranes.”

Copyright 2012 | All rights reserved. | Powered by FRM II | Imprint / Privacy Policy

Print this page   |   Top